1. Home
  2.  › 
  3. Countries

Equatorial Guinea

If you are looking for this country on the globe, you only have to look for the equator. Equatorial Guinea is the only country on earth, along with the South American state of Ecuador, to have its latitude in its name. An oil boom has made Equatorial Guinea rich, and at the turn of the last century this region was considered the wealthiest country on the African continent. But with its close proximity to the equator, the people of this country live with heavy rainfall year-round. As a result, a tropical rainforest developed right on the doorstep of the capital Malabo, reaching as far as the sea and giving rise to mangroves along the coasts. In the 15th century, it was the Portuguese who found themselves at the African equator on their way to India. In the eighties of the last century, the country between Cameroon, Gabon and the Gulf of Guinea gained independence.

The 2 largest cities in the country are Bata and the capital Malabo.

Karte von Equatorial Guinea

Popular cities

Accommodation in Equatorial Guinea

Book with us a hotel or other vacation accommodation in Equatorial Guinea. With our partners you will find cheap prices without reservation fees.

Guide to Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea at a glance

  • Population: 1.268.000
  • Area: 28051 km2
  • Continent: Afrika
  • Currency: CFA Franc BEAC (XAF)