South Sudan

Travel Guide 2023

  1. Home
  2.  › 
  3. Countries
South Sudan is a landlocked country in East Africa bordered by Ethiopia, Sudan, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda and Kenya. The state gained independence from Sudan on July 9, 2011. The country's history is marked by political conflicts and ethnic tensions, including a decades-long civil war. South Sudan is one of the poorest countries in the world with a very young population. South Sudan is known for its diverse wildlife, especially elephants, buffalo, giraffes, and lions, as well as the Sudd, a large swampland in the center of the country. The country's main attractions include Boma National Park, Nimule National Park, and the Badingilo Mountains.

Country data South Sudan

South Sudan at a glance

Area644329 km2
CurrencySouth Sudanese Pound (SSP)
Neighboring countriesDemocratic Republic of the Congo, Central African Republic, Ethiopia, Kenya, Sudan und Uganda

Map South Sudan

Country borders and location of the capital

Cities in South Sudan