1. Home
  2.  › 
  3. Countries


Uruguay is a country in South America.

The 8 largest cities in the country are the capital Montevideo, Salto, Ciudad de la Costa, Maldonado, Paysandú, Las Piedras, Tacuarembó and Melo.

Karte von Uruguay

Popular cities

Ferry ports in Uruguay

Direct ferry connections to Uruguay are available from Argentina. You can find an overview of all routes on our page: Ferries to Uruguay

Accommodation in Uruguay

Book with us a hotel or other vacation accommodation in Uruguay. With our partners you will find cheap prices without reservation fees.

Guide to Uruguay

Uruguay at a glance

  • Population: 3.457.000
  • Area: 176220 km2
  • Continent: Südamerika
  • Currency: Peso Uruguayo (UYU)


The official language of Uruguay is Spanisch.

Neighboring countries

Uruguay has 2 neighboring countries. There are 2 countries directly bordering Uruguay: