Mount Rushmore

  1. Home
  2.  › 
  3. United States of America

Mount Rushmore is one of the most famous and important cultural monuments in the United States. It is a massive monument in the Black Hills in the state of South Dakota that displays the heads of four of the most important presidents in American history: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln.

The Mount Rushmore National Memorial was created between 1927 and 1941 by sculptor Gutzon Borglum and his team to honor the achievements and legacies of these four presidents and to represent the evolution of the United States as a nation. The four monumental sculptures are carved into the granite rock and are impressive for their size: each of the figures is about 18 meters high.

Mount Rushmore's popularity stems from its cultural significance and iconic representation of American history. The monument attracts more than two million visitors from all over the world every year, who admire the impressive work of art and appreciate the history and symbolism associated with it.

Visitors can view the monument from Mount Rushmore National Memorial Park, which also includes a visitor center, museum and Presidential Trail. The Presidential Trail is an 800-yard walking path that runs along the base of the sculptures, offering visitors a breathtaking view of the monumental presidential heads. The park also hosts nightly lighting ceremonies that impressively illuminate the sculptures.

Mount Rushmore is also a good base from which to explore the scenic beauty and numerous attractions of the surrounding Black Hills, including Custer State Park, the Crazy Horse Memorial and the historic town of Deadwood.