The history of the museum
The museum is housed in two buildings that date back to the Ottoman period. They are the Kurşunlu Han Caravanserai. The Bedesten and the Mahmut Paşa Bedesteni Bazaar. The original archaeological museum was located in a defense tower of Akkale Fortress since 1921. In 1938, reconstruction works began in the two historical buildings, which lasted until 1968. The installation of the exhibits began in 1940. The first part of the museum, the present central hall with the monumental works of the Hittites, was opened to visitors in 1943.
The exhibition of the Anadolu Medeniyetleri Muzesi
The exhibits are arranged chronologically so that visitors can trace the chronological course of Anatolian culture. Most of the oldest finds come from a cave near Antalya. The period of the Hittite Empire plays a major role, which is documented with finds from the then capital Hattuša. Important finds in this regard are clay vessels and cuneiform texts. A replica of the burial chamber of King Midas from the time of the Phrygians forms a focal point of the exhibition. Jewelry and bowls made of precious metals present the era of the Lydians. Coins, vases and pottery refer to classical antiquity. The exhibition of the Anadolu Medeniyetleri Muzesi is complemented by sculptures from different periods of history. A special section of the museum is dedicated to the history of the city of Ankara.