1. Home
  2.  › 
  3. Sweden
  4.  › 
  5. Stockholm

The districts of Stockholm

The municipality of Stockholm consists of 14 boroughs, which in turn are divided into different districts. Historically and geographically, Stockholm’s inner city can be divided into 5 districts.


Old Town

The medieval old town of Stockholm
The Gamla Stan district is the historic centre of Stockholm. The beautiful old town, surrounded by water, is by far the city's most important attraction with its winding medieval streets, pastel-coloured houses, the royal castle and magnificent churches and palaces.


Stockholm's trendiest district
The central district of Södermalm (colloquially known as Söder) is the former working-class area of Stockholm. The hilly island south of the old town is now a trendy nightlife district and residential area for artists, intellectuals and students. But also touristically the former dirty quarter of Stockholm has ...


Museums, attractions and lots of nature
Djurgården is an island and district in central Stockholm. It is home to many of the city's major attractions, including the Vasa Museum, Gröna Lund amusement park, Abba Museum and Skansen open-air museum.


The most expensive and exclusive district of Stockholm
Östermalm is one of the central districts in downtown Stockholm. As one of Sweden's most exclusive residential areas, it is not only the nightlife and shopping district of the rich and famous, but also home to the Royal Theatre (Dramaten), numerous embassies, museums and public institutions.


The "Royal Island" of Stockholm
The island of Kungsholmen, which lies entirely in the Mälaren, is one of Stockholm's four central districts.


District in the centre of Stockholm
Vasastan is a district in central Stockholm and part of the municipality of Norrmalm. The district got its name from the street leading to Vasastan, Vasagatan. This was named after the bridge Vasabron, which in turn got its name from the statue Gustav Vasas, which stands in front of the ...


The modern centre of Stockholm
From Gamla StanThe historic (and tourist) centre of Stockholm, you can get to Norrmalm, today's centre of Stockholm, via Drottinggatan. The "modern transformation" of the district in the 1940s ...


Parks, museums and harbours
Ladugårdsgärdet (usually just referred to as Gärdet) is one of Stockholm's most diverse and touristy districts. In addition to numerous museums, it is home to the city's main harbour facilities, the diplomatic quarter, large parks with wonderful walking paths and waterfront restaurants, and of course the Kakna ...

The central districts of Stockholm

  1. The old town Gamla Stan, consisting of the 4 islands Stadsholmen, Helgendsholmen, Riddarholmen and Strömsborg
  2. The island Södermalm
  3. The city district Norrmalm with the two islands Skeppsholmen and Kastellholmen
  4. The municipality of Östermalm with the island of Djurgården
  5. The island of Kungsholmen, together with the two islands Lilla Essingen and Stora Essingen

The boroughs of Stockholm

The 4 boroughs in the centre of Stockholm:

  • Kungsholmen
  • Norrmalm
  • Östermalm
  • Södermalm

The 4 boroughs in the west of Stockholm:

  • Bromma
  • Hässelby-Vällingby
  • Rinkeby-Kista
  • Spånga-Tensta

The 6 municipalities in the south of Stockholm:

  • Enskede-Årsta-Vantör
  • Farsta
  • Hägersten-Liljeholmen
  • Skarpnäck
  • Skärholmen
  • Älvsjö

The urban area of Stockholm

The urban area of Stockholm includes, in addition to the municipality of Stockholm (Stockholms municipality or Stockholm city) also the surrounding municipalities Solna and Sundbyberg as well as (partly) Botkyrka, Danderyd, Haninge, Huddinge, Järfälla, Nacka, Sollentuna, Tyresö and Upplands Väsby. The island of Lidingö is normally no longer included in the urban area of Stockholm.