Royal Palace with Orangery, Park and Sculpture Museum
Idyllically situated on Edsviken beach, Ulriksdal Castle is one of Sweden's nine official royal castles. Its central location and extensive castle grounds make Ulriksdal a popular destination among Stockholmers and tourists alike for walks, cafe visits and day trips.
Originally the castle, built in 1639-1644, was called Jacobsdal, after its first owner Jacob De la Gardie. It was not until Queen Hedvig Eleonora bought the castle in 1669 and gave it to her grandson Ulrik in 1684 that it was renamed Ulriksdal. Since 1986 it has been possible to visit the castle during the summer months. The rooms on display have been restored to their original furnishings, including the dining room of King Charles XV and the furnishings from the time of Gustaf VI Adolf and Queen Louise. The Swedish office of the environmental organisation WWF is located in a side wing of the castle. The extensive castle grounds also house the Orangery Museum, a castle chapel, the Confidencen Theatre (Sweden's oldest theatre) and a café (Ulriksdals Slottscafé) and restaurant (Ulriksdals Wärdshus).
Tickets and prices
- Adults 120 SEK
- Students 80 SEK
- Children (7-17) 80 SEK
- Children (0-6) free admission
- Subway + bus: take the red line to Bergshamra stop, change to bus 503 and get off at Ulriksdal Värdshus stop. From the bus stop you can reach the castle in 5 minutes on foot (about 300 m).
- By car: follow the E4 towards Norrttälje and take exit 169. Follow the signs to "Ulriksdal Slott". There is free parking along the road to the castle.