x
  1. Home
  2.  › 
  3. Spain
  4.  › 
  5. Kanaren

Lanzarote

Travel Guide 2021

Lanzarote – The island of fire of César Manrique

Black is almost everything on Lanzarote. This is the fire island of the ingenious painter, architect, sculptor and environmentalist César Manrique. You will encounter his life’s work at every turn on this spectacular island. Probably no one else has left such a mark on an island as this man, who one day was run over by a car on his doorstep and succumbed to his injuries.

It was Manrique’s vision to change the island of his home and his dreams. One thing he saw coming in his lifetime: Lanzarote has long since freed itself from its former status as the poorhouse of the Canary Islands and is now one of the most popular holiday destinations. This island has to be enjoyed and experienced with all senses.

Lanzarote – born in fire and designed by an artist

If the word “wild” applies to one of the seven Canary Islands, then only Lanzarote can be meant. It is born in the fire and presents itself in the national park Timanfaya as a landscape that could have been created by the devil. At the large visitor centre and the restaurant of the park, this devil can be seen in stately size, created by the ingenious artist and architect César Manrique.

He has shaped this island like no other and he will not have thought it possible during his lifetime that his fire devil of Timanfaya would one day become the trademark of Lanzarote and a desired souvenir for tourists. This island inspired César Manrique, and those who travel to the most important sights of Lanzarote today will encounter his ideas and works again and again.

The fire devil of Timanfaya – a landmark of Lanzarote.

No records of the “Old Canarians”.

It is the contrasts that made Lanzarote a “wild beauty”. The view from there does not reach to the African coast, but it is not only the geographical proximity that connects the island with Morocco. This is probably where the first people came from who settled this largely barren landscape and who primarily helped themselves to the fruits of the sea.

There are no records of the so-called “Old Canarians”, apart from circular scribbles on various rocks. We only know that one day they were driven out of their supposed paradise by the soldiers of the rulers of the Castilian royal house. In the early 15th century, Lanzarote was supposed to serve as a trading station and as a harbour on the way of the ships to America, but these considerations then disappeared in the haze of the history.

Testimony of a geologist: “No tree, no herb”.

Leopold von Buch was a German geologist who travelled to Lanzarote in 1825 because his studies were mainly devoted to volcanism. He had previously visited Vesuvius in Italy and the Caldera de Taburiente on La Palma, and then realized on Lanzarote that the volcanic eruptions there apparently originated from a single fissure in the earth. Later he held a treatise on this at the Prussian Academy of Sciences. He gave Lanzarote the worst possible report card, and the scenery he found there he summed up succinctly: “Not a tree or a herb…” At the time of his visit, Lanzarote was indeed still considered one of the poorhouses of the Canary Islands. But with tourism, a certain prosperity finally took hold there.

Only a blink of an eye in history

According to volcanologists, underneath the earth’s crust of the Canarian Islands there is a “hot spot” that moves from east to west. It discharges itself every now and then in eruptions and lets arise new islands in front of the African coast. Lanzarote is the best example for this, as there, the biggest of all volcanic eruptions happened in the six years between 1730 and 1736. Indeed, these almost three hundred years that passed since then are rather a blink of an eye of history, but those who are chauffeured as a holiday maker by the bus through the national park Timanfaya today, can hardly avoid the impression that this catastrophe happened only a few years ago.

The priest of Yaiza experienced hell

A remarkable document of the events of September 1730 has been preserved. It was penned by the priest of Yaiza, a village located between the Los Ajaches ridge and the volcanic landscape of the Timanfayas Mountains. These are the key sentences of his dramatic account: “A huge mountain formed the first night and it burned for 19 days. A stream of lava flowed into the sea and the shores were covered with huge quantities of dead fish.” The clergyman did not finish his diary notes until that hour when the lava masses reached his chapel. He had experienced hell on earth as the former granary of Lanzarote was destroyed.

Four hundred degrees Celsius at a depth of four metres

The national park Timanfaya with the fire mountains is undoubtedly the biggest sight in Lanzarote. It is 51 square kilometres in size and can only be visited as part of a booked bus tour. The lava masses take a quarter of the whole volume of the island and in some places of this moonscape, the underground is still quite hot. This is impressively demonstrated right at the visitor center when workers throw broom bushes into a hot vent and they immediately begin to burn.

When water is poured into the hole in the ground, a fountain of steam is created. At a depth of four metres the temperature is four hundred degrees Celsius. Eight meters down, the temperature is six hundred degrees Celsius. The restaurant “El Diabolo” serves chicken legs, which are cooked on the grill with the heat of the earth.

Manrique turned a wasteland into a jewel

The volcanic heart of the island has obviously always appealed to the artist and architect César Manrique, because where others saw an endless wasteland on Lanzarote, he discovered one jewel after the next. He took advantage of the bizarre shapes of the lava formations and created the unusual. Throughout his life he was a fighter against the changes in Lanzarote. He hated the hotel castles and mass tourism and set his way of thinking and acting against it.

Today Lanzarote would not be what it is without the ideas of this man. Standing one day in the north of the island in front of a cave entrance buried by rubbish, he said to his companion, the friend of his younger years, “If you help me, I’ll make it one of the most beautiful places in the world.” He succeeded!

Of albino crabs and underground concerts

Jameos del Agua is now a cult and cultural site in equal measure. The impressive legacy of a genius. When the first visitors came to see this subterranean work of art in 1966, many of them held their breath. Under the lava field of the Monte de la Corona volcano, a miracle of nature had been created. With a lake in which albino crayfish cavort, with a tube that is a hundred metres long, with an interesting lighting system that makes you think that stars are twinkling on the still water and with a vault that can be used for concerts. The five thousand year old lava tunnel had been brought to life and is one of the masterpieces of César Manrique. Above ground, visitors reach a snow-white swimming pool surrounded by palm trees, a restaurant and a museum.

“In the land of volcanoes, I am a volcano myself”.

Manrique was a child of the island of Lanzarote. His cradle was in the capital Arrecife. Later he studied in Madrid and was often ridiculed when he presented his ideas. He tried his hand at abstract paintings as a painter, then moved to New York, where his works hung in a gallery alongside those of Joan Miró. Now he was famous, but his thoughts always went back to Lanzarote. “In this land of volcanoes, I am a volcano myself,” he once said, and began developing concepts for unusual projects. He dreamed of a “paradise of the few” and used in his buildings the materials that this island had in abundance: lava!

No building is higher than a palm tree

But Manrique also saw himself as a kind of missionary and environmentalist. He wanted to prevent his homeland from becoming a concrete landscape. And he was successful in his efforts, as the island administration signed a law according to which no building should be higher than a palm tree. From his think tank came the Jardin de Cactus, an impressive garden with countless cacti, the Mirador del Rio with a view of the small island of La Graciosa as well as several works of art along the roadside. After he died in a car accident in front of his house in September 1992, his impressive home is now open to the public for tours.

Teguise – Houses in Spanish colonial style

Manrique is a must-see on Lanzarote. Thus, the holiday centre Costa Teguise with its white houses in the Canarian style was created under his direction. And he designed the swimming pool of the first five-star hotel on Lanzarote, the hotel “Melia Salinas”. The historic village of Teguise was destroyed several times by pirates and then rebuilt again and again. Today some houses in the Spanish colonial style are under monument protection. The whole old town of Teguise looks like a museum and those who stroll through the narrow alleys walk on the traces of history. Everywhere on the island you will find hospitable innkeepers and contemplative restaurants.

Winegrowers and landscape artists

The cultivation of wine is not only a tradition on Lanzarote – many winegrowers see themselves as landscape artists. In the area of La Geria, each vine grows in a specially dug depression, where the humidity of the night collects and where the sensitive plants are protected from the wind by a piled up stone wall. In these vineyards, not far from Timanfaya National Park, fine wines are served on the tables of picturesque fincas. Most estates have a small pub with a well-stocked selection of wines and tapas. The main grapes grown are Moscatel and Malvasia. The oldest winery in the Canary Islands is El Grifo. Attached to the bodega is a wine museum.

The “perfect wave” at the fishing village La Santa

Windsurfers have long since found their best beach on Lanzarote and there the “perfect wave”. The experts among them are drawn to the fishing village of La Santa, but this is not a spot for beginners because of the unpredictability of the ocean. They should rather try their luck at the beach of Caleta de Famara. Those who want to swim in the turquoise sea have to be careful in Lanzarote, as not all beaches are suitable for swimming. Holidaymakers prefer the north-east of Lanzarote with its dunes that also break the wind: Mojón Blanco and Caletón Blanco. If you don’t come here on a hot weekend, you will find your sheltered spot on the beach.

Luxurious hotels and first class restaurants

Lanzarote sees itself as a domicile for people who have a certain demand for quality in their holiday destination. Therefore, there is no lack of luxurious hotels, first class restaurants and an exemplary infrastructure. Visitor numbers have shot up to new heights since word got around about the magic of this unusual island in the Canaries. The most popular resorts are now Puerto del Carmen, Costa Teguise and Playa Blanca.

Lanzarote’s model for tourist development has received international recognition, and in the early 1990s the entire island was declared a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. Not all dreams of the artist César Manrique came true on “his” island, but the balancing act between the claim to use the natural resources and to serve tourism, Lanzarote has undoubtedly managed with its versatile leisure offer.

The most popular destinations in Lanzarote

Lanzarote Guide

Explore Lanzarote and find information on what to do and where to stay.

Lanzarote

Lanzarote

Lanzarote

Lanzarote

Reiseführer 2020

[cgi_menu3 city=“lanzarote“]

Lanzarote – Die Feuerinsel des César Manrique

Schwarz ist fast alles auf Lanzarote. Dies ist die Feuerinsel des genialen Malers, Architekten, Bildhauers und Umweltschützers César Manrique. Seinem Lebenswert begegnet man auf dieser spektakulären Insel auf Schritt und Tritt. Wohl niemand anders hat eine Insel derart geprägt, wie dieser Mann, der eines Tages vor seiner Haustür von einem Auto überfahren wurde und dabei seinen Verletzungen erlag.
Es war Manriques Vision, die Insel seiner Heimat und seiner Träume zu verändern. Eines hat er zu Lebzeiten kommen sehen: Lanzarote hat sich von seinem einstigen Status als Armenhaus der Kanaren längst befreit und ist heute eine der beliebtesten Feriendomizile. Diese Insel muss man mit allen Sinnen genießen und erleben.

Lanzarote – im Feuer geboren und von einem Künstler gestaltet

Wenn auf eine der sieben Kanarischen Inseln das Wort „wild“ zutrifft, dann kann damit eigentlich nur Lanzarote gemeint sein. Sie ist im Feuer geboren und präsentiert sich im Nationalpark Timanfaya als Landschaft, die der Teufel geschaffen haben könnte. Am großen Besucherzentrum und am Restaurant des Parks ist dieser Teufel in stattlicher Größe zu sehen, geschaffen von dem genialen Künstler und Architekten César Manrique.

Der hat wie kein anderer diese Insel geprägt und er wird es zu seinen Lebzeiten nicht für möglich gehalten haben, dass sein Feuerteufel von Timanfaya eines Tages zum Markenzeichen Lanzarotes und zu einem begehrten Mitbringsel für Touristen würde. Diese Insel inspirierte César Manrique, und wer heute zu den wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten Lanzarotes reist, der begegnet immer wieder dessen Ideen und Werken.

Keine Aufzeichnungen von den „Altkanariern“

Es sind die Kontraste, die Lanzarote zu einer „wilden Schönheit“ machten. Bis zur afrikanischen Küste reicht von dort der Blick zwar nicht, doch es nicht allein die geographische Nähe, die die Insel mit Marokko verbindet. Von dort sind vermutlich die ersten Menschen gekommen, die diese weitgehend karge Landschaft besiedelten und die sich in erster Linie an den Früchten des Meeres bedienten.

Von den sogenannten „Altkanariern“ gibt es keinerlei Aufzeichnungen, sieht man einmal von kreisförmigen Kritzeleien auf diversen Felsen ab. Man weiß nur, dass sie eines Tages durch die Soldaten der Herrscher des kastilischen Königshauses aus ihrem vermeintlichen Paradies vertrieben wurden. Lanzarote sollte im frühen 15. Jahrhundert als Handelsstation und als Hafen auf dem Weg der Schiffe nach Amerika dienen, doch diese Überlegungen verschwanden dann im Dunst der Geschichte.

Zeugnis eines Geologen: „Kein Baum, kein Kraut“

Leopold von Buch war ein deutscher Geologe, der im Jahr 1825 nach Lanzarote reiste, weil er sich bei seinen Studien vor allem dem Vulkanismus widmete. Er besuchte vorher den Vesuv in Italien und die Caldera de Taburiente auf La Palma und erkannte dann auf Lanzarote, dass die dortigen Vulkanausbrüche offenbar aus einer einzigen Erdspalte entstanden. Später hielt er darüber einen Vertrag in der Preußischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. Lanzarote stellte er ein denkbar schlechtes Zeugnis aus, und die Szenerie, die er dort vorfand, fasste er kurz und knapp zusammen: „Kein Baum und kein Kraut…“ Zu den Zeiten seines Besuchs galt Lanzarote in der Tat noch als eines der Armenhäuser der Kanarischen Inseln. Doch mit dem Tourismus hielt dann schließlich ein gewisser Wohlstand dort Einzug.

Nur ein Wimpernschlag der Geschichte

Unter der Erdkruste der Kanarischen Inseln bewegt sich nach Ansicht von Vulkanologen ein „Hot Spot“, der von Ost nach West wandert. Er entlädt sich immer mal wieder in Eruptionen und lässt vor der afrikanischen Küste neue Inseln entstehen. Lanzarote ist dafür das beste Beispiel, denn dort passierte der größte aller Vulkanausbrüche in den sechs Jahren zwischen 1730 und 1736. Zwar sind diese knapp dreihundert Jahre, die seither vergangen sind, eher ein Wimpernschlag der Geschichte, doch wer sich als Urlauber heute mit dem Bus durch den Nationalpark Timanfaya chauffieren lässt, der kann sich des Eindrucks kaum erwehren, dass diese Katastrophe erst vor ein paar Jahren eintrat.

Der Pfarrer von Yaiza erlebte die Hölle

Von den Ereignissen im September 1730 ist ein bemerkenswertes Dokument erhalten geblieben. Es stammt aus der Feder des Pfarrers von Yaiza, eines Dorfs zwischen dem Bergrücken des Los Ajaches und der Vulkanlandschaft des Timanfayas Gebirges. Dies sind die Kernsätze seiner dramatischen Schilderung: „Ein gewaltiger Berg bildete sich in der ersten Nacht und er brannte 19 Tage lang. Ein Lavastrom floss ins Meer und die Küsten waren mit riesigen Mengen toter Fische bedeckt.“ Der Geistliche beendete seine Tagebuch-Notizen erst in jener Stunde, als die Lavamassen seine Kapelle erreichten. Er hatte die Hölle auf Erden erlebt, als die einstige Kornkammer Lanzarotes zerstört wurde.

Vierhundert Grad Celsius in vier Metern Tiefe

Der Nationalpark Timanfaya mit den Feuerbergen ist zweifellos die größte Sehenswürdigkeit auf Lanzarote. Er ist 51 Quadratkilometer groß und kann nur im Rahmen einer gebuchten Busreise besichtigt werden. Die Lavamassen nehmen ein Viertel des gesamten Volumens der Insel ein, und an manchen Stellen dieser Mondlandschaft ist der Untergrund noch ziemlich heiß. Das wird unmittelbar am Besucherzentrum eindrucksvoll demonstriert, wenn Arbeiter Ginsterbüsche in einen heißen Schlund werfen und diese unmittelbar zu brennen beginnen.

Wenn Wasser in das Erdloch geschüttet wird, entsteht eine Fontäne aus Dampf. In einer Tiefe von vier Metern beträgt die Temperatur vierhundert Grad Celsius. Acht Meter tiefer sind es dann sechshundert Grad Celsius. Das Restaurant „El Diabolo“ serviert im übrigen Hühnerbeine, die auf dem Grill mit der Erdhitze gegart werden.

Aus einer Ödnis machte Manrique ein Juwel

Das vulkanische Herz der Insel hatte es dem Künstler und Architekten César Manrique offenbar schon immer angetan, denn wo andere auf Lanzarote eine unendliche Ödnis erblickten, entdeckte er ein Juwel nach dem nächsten. Die skurilen Formen der Gebilde aus Lava machte er sich zunutze und gestaltete Ungewöhnliches. Zeit seines Lebens war er ein Kämpfer gegen die Veränderungen auf Lanzarote. Er hasste die Hotelburgen und den Massentourismus und setzte seine Art des Denkens und Handelns dagegen.

Heute wäre Lanzarote ohne die Ideen dieses Mannes nicht das, was es ist. Als er eines Tages im Norden der Insel vor einem von Unrat verschütteten Höhleneingang stand, sagte er zu seinem Begleiter, dem Freund seiner jungen Jahre: „Wenn Du mir hilfst, mache ich daraus einen der schönsten Plätze der Welt.“ Es ist ihm gelungen!

Von Albinokrebsen und unterirdischen Konzerten

Jameos del Agua ist heute gleichermaßen eine Kult- und Kulturstätte. Das eindrucksvolle Vermächtnis eines Genies. Als die ersten Besucher im Jahr 1966 dieses unterirdische Kunstwerk betrachteten, hielten etliche von ihnen den Atem an. Entstanden war unter dem Lavafeld des Vulkans Monte de la Corona ein Wunder der Natur. Mit einem See, in dem sich Albinokrebse tummeln, mit einer hundert Meter langen Röhre, mit einem interessanten Beleuchtungssystem, bei dem man glaubt, dass Sterne auf dem stillen Wasser funkeln und mit einem Gewölbe, das zu Konzerten genutzt werden kann. Der fünftausend Jahre alte Lavatunnel war von nun an zum Leben erweckt worden und ist eine der Meisterwerke des César Manrique. Überirdisch erreicht der Besucher ein von Palmen umsäumtes schneeweiß leuchtendes Schwimmbecken, ein Restaurant und ein Museum.

„Im Land der Vulkane bin ich selbst ein Vulkan“

Manrique war ein Kind der Insel Lanzarote. Seine Wiege stand in der Hauptstadt Arrecife. Später studierte er in Madrid und wurde häufig belächelt, wenn er seine Ideen präsentierte. Er versuchte sich als Maler an abstrakten Bildern, zog dann nach New York, wo seine Werke in einer Galerie neben denen von Joan Miró hingen. Nun war er berühmt, doch seine Gedanken gingen immer zurück nach Lanzarote. „In diesem Land der Vulkane bin ich selbst ein Vulkan“, sagte er einmal und begann damit, Konzepte für ungewöhnliche Projekte zu entwickeln. Er träumte von einem „Paradies des Wenigen“ und nutzte bei seinem Bauten die Materialien, über die diese Insel in reichem Maße verfügte: Lava!

Kein Gebäude ist höher als eine Palme

Aber Manrique verstand sich auch als eine Art Missionar und Umweltschützer. Er wollte verhindern, dass aus seiner Heimat eine betonierte Landschaft wurde. Und er hatte in seinem Bemühen Erfolg, denn die Inselverwaltung unterschrieb ein Gesetz, wonach kein Gebäude höher sein sollte als eine Palme wachse. Es entstanden aus seiner Ideenschmiede der Jardin de Cactus, ein eindrucksvoller Garten mit unzähligen Kakteen, der Mirador del Rio mit dem Blick auf die kleine Insel La Graciosa sowie etliche Kunstwerke am Straßenrand. Nachdem er im September 1992 bei einem Autounfall vor seiner Haustür ums Leben kam, steht nun auch sein eindrucksvolles Wohnhaus der Öffentlichkeit für Besichtigungen offen.

Teguise – Häuser im spanischen Kolonialstil

An Manrique kommt auf Lanzarote eigentlich keiner vorbei. So entstand unter seiner Regie auch das Ferienzentrum Costa Teguise mit dessen weißen Häusern im kanarischen Stil. Und er entwarf das Schwimmbad des ersten Fünf-Sterne-Hotels auf Lanzarote, dem Hotel „Melia Salinas“. Der historische Ort Teguise wurde von Piraten mehrfach zerstört und dann immer wieder aufgebaut. Heute stehen dort einige Häuser im spanischen Kolonialstil unter Denkmalschutz. Die gesamte Altstadt von Teguise wirkt wie ein Museum, und wer durch die engen Gassen bummelt, der wandelt auf den Spuren der Geschichte. Überall auf der Insel finden sich gastfreundliche Wirte und beschauliche Restaurants.

Weinbauern und Landschaftskünstler

Der Anbau von Wein hat auf Lanzarote nicht nur Tradition – viele Winzer verstehen sich als Landschaftskünstler. In der Gegend von La Geria wächst jede Rebe in einer eigens für sie ausgehobenen Senke, wo sich die Feuchtigkeit der Nacht sammelt und wo die empfindlichen Pflanzen vom Wind mit einer aufgeschichteten Steinmauer geschützt sind. In diesen Weinbergen, unweit des Nationalparks Timanfaya, werden edle Tropfen den den Tischen malerischer Fincas serviert. Zu den meisten Gütern gehört eine kleine Kneipe mit einer gut sortierten Auswahl an Weinen und an Tapas. Angebaut werden in erster Linie die Trauben Moscatel und Malvasier. Die älteste Weinkellerei der Kanaren ist El Grifo. Der Bodega angegliedert ist ein Weinmuseum.

Die „perfekte Welle“ beim Fischerdorf La Santa

Windsurfer haben auf Lanzarote längst ihren besten Strand und dort die „perfekte Welle“ gefunden. Die Könner unter ihnen zieht es in die Nähe des Fischerdorfs La Santa, doch das ist wegen der Unberechenbarkeit des Ozeans kein Revier für Anfänger. Die sollten ihr Glück eher am Strand von Caleta de Famara versuchen. Wer im türkisfarbenen Meer baden möchte, muss auf Lanzarote auf der Hut sein, denn nicht alle Strände sind zum Schwimmen geeignet. Bevorzugt wird von den Urlaubern der Nordosten Lanzarotes mit seinen Dünen, die auch den Wind brechen: Mojón Blanco und Caletón Blanco. Wenn man nicht gerade an einem heißen Wochenende hierher kommt, findet man seinen geschützten Platz am Strand.

Luxuriöse Hotels und erstklassige Restaurants

Lanzarote versteht sich als Domizil für Menschen, die einen gewissen Qualitäts-Anspruch an ihr Urlaubsziel haben. Daher mangelt es nicht am luxuriösen Hotels, erstklassigen Restaurants und an einer beispielhaften Infrastruktur. Die Besucherzahlen schossen in neue Dimensionen, seitdem sich der Zauber dieser ungewöhnlichen Insel der Kanaren herumgesprochen hat. Die beliebtesten Urlaubsorte sind nunmehr Puerto del Carmen, Costa Teguise und Playa Blanca.

Das Modell Lanzarotes zur touristischen Entschließung erfuhr internationale Anerkennung, und in den frühen neunziger Jahren des vergangenen Jahrhunderts wurde die gesamte Insel zum Biosphärenreservat der UNESCO erklärt. Nicht alle Träume des Künstlers César Manrique erfüllten sich auf „seiner“ Insel, doch den Spagat zwischen dem Anspruch, die natürlichen Ressourcen zu nutzen und dem Tourismus zu dienen, hat Lanzarote mit seinem vielseitigen Freizeitangebot zweifellos geschafft.