x

Anadolu Medeniyetleri Muzesi

Museum of Anatolian Civilizations

  1. Home
  2.  › 
  3. Turkey
  4.  › 
  5. Ankara
The Anadolu Medeniyetleri Muzesi - Museum of Anatolian Civilization - is also often called the Hittite Museum because the history of the Hittites is the focus of the exhibition. It is one of the two largest archaeological museums in Turkey.
  1. The history of the museum
  2. The exhibition of the Anadolu Medeniyetleri Muzesi
  3. Museum Information

The history of the museum

The museum is housed in two buildings that date back to the Ottoman period. They are the Kurşunlu Han Caravanserai. The Bedesten and the Mahmut Paşa Bedesteni Bazaar. The original archaeological museum was located in a defense tower of Akkale Fortress since 1921. In 1938, reconstruction works began in the two historical buildings, which lasted until 1968. The installation of the exhibits began in 1940. The first part of the museum, the present central hall with the monumental works of the Hittites, was opened to visitors in 1943.

The exhibition of the Anadolu Medeniyetleri Muzesi

The exhibits are arranged chronologically so that visitors can trace the chronological course of Anatolian culture. Most of the oldest finds come from a cave near Antalya. The period of the Hittite Empire plays a major role, which is documented with finds from the then capital Hattuša. Important finds in this regard are clay vessels and cuneiform texts. A replica of the burial chamber of King Midas from the time of the Phrygians forms a focal point of the exhibition. Jewelry and bowls made of precious metals present the era of the Lydians. Coins, vases and pottery refer to classical antiquity. The exhibition of the Anadolu Medeniyetleri Muzesi is complemented by sculptures from different periods of history. A special section of the museum is dedicated to the history of the city of Ankara.

Museum Information

x
  1. Startseite
  2.  › 
  3. Türkei
  4.  › 
  5. Ankara

Anadolu Medeniyetleri Muzesi

Museum für anatolische Zivilisationen

Das Anadolu Medeniyetleri Muzesi – Museum für anatolische Zivilisation – wird auch gerne als Hethitermuseum bezeichnet, weil die Geschichte der Hethiter im Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung steht. Es ist eines der zwei größten archäologischen Museen der Türkei.

  1. Die Geschichte des Museums
  2. Die Ausstellung des Anadolu Medeniyetleri Muzesi
  3. Informationen zum Museum

Die Geschichte des Museums

Das Museum ist in zwei Gebäuden untergebracht, die aus der osmanischen Zeit stammen. Es handelt sich um die  Karawanserei Kurşunlu Han. Den Bedesten und den Basar Mahmut Paşa Bedesteni. Das ursprüngliche archäologische Museum befand sich seit 1921 in einem Wehrturm der Festung Akkale. Im Jahre 1938 begannen Umbauarbeiten in den beiden historischen Gebäuden, die dauerten bis 1968. Mit dem Aufstellen der Exponate wurde 1940 angefangen. Der erste Teil des Museums, der heutige Mittelsaal mit den monumentalen Werken der Hethiter, wurde 1943 für Besucher zugänglich.

Die Ausstellung des Anadolu Medeniyetleri Muzesi

Die Ausstellungsstücke sind chronologisch angeordnet, sodass die Besucher den zeitlichen Verlauf der anatolischen Kultur nachvollziehen können. Die meisten der ältesten Funde stammen aus einer Höhle bei Antalya. Eine große Rolle spielt die Zeit des hethitischen Großreiches, die mit Funden aus der damaligen Hauptstadt Hattuša dokumentiert ist. Wichtige Funde hierzu sind Tongefäße und Keilschrifttexte. Eine Nachbildung der Grabkammer von König Midas aus der Zeit der Phryger bildet einen Mittelpunkt der Ausstellung. Schmuck und Schalen aus Edelmetall präsentieren die Epoche der Lyder. Auf die klassische Antike verweisen Münzen, Vasen und Tonwaren. Ergänzt wird die Ausstellung des Anadolu Medeniyetleri Muzesi durch Skulpturen aus verschiedenen Zeiten der Geschichte. Ein besonderer Bereich des Museum ist der Geschichte der Stadt Ankara gewidmet.

Informationen zum Museum

AdresseKale, Gözcü Sk. No:2, 06240 Ulus/Altındağ/Ankara, Türkei
WikipediaMuseum für anatolische Zivilisationen
Webseitewww.anadolumedeniyetlerimuzesi.gov.tr